Skip to content

The Incredible Hulk

July 22, 2009

The other movie that I watched last weekend was the Edward Norton version of The Incredible Hulk.

I had a chance to see this one when it was in theaters in 2008 but the first one by Ang Lee was so terrible that I was nervous about seeing it. I skipped it at the time. However, my friends who saw it had good things to say so I finally downloaded it.

And I was pleasantly surprised.

I’ve enjoyed Edward Norton’s acting for awhile now and he does a great job as David Banner. He does seem a little too “every-man” but it works for what this movie did.

This won’t be a plot review because it came across as a fugitive movie with a bad guy who’s desperate for power. Liv Tyler is somewhat annoying with her way too high pitched voice but she does a an okay job.

What sets this movie apart from the other one is three important factors, better acting, better direction, and a better understanding of the Hulk character.

The first two are easily explained. The acting overall in this one is better than the first one. A noted lack of Ang Lee helps. He pushed the movie in the direction of indie art house film which left much to be desired. I understand the Hulk is a comic character but the strange cut aways and narrations ruined it.

There was a video game released for the Playstation 3 that used the Hulk as a character and this movie felt like that game. Wanton destruction and large beasts battling across cityscapes and against the military.

What’s not to love about that?

For me it was reminiscent of old monster movies that I watched as a kid with my dad. It was a nostalgic and enjoyable experience for me.

If you want a movie that represents the qualities that make Hulk a fun character than I recommend you rent this one. It’s worth the 4 bucks at Blockbuster or a wait from Netflix. Still, if you’re like me hit up Isohunt and download it.

Scyo.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

