Skip to content

Foreign Problems

June 17, 2009

After I posted my Anniversary post last week I received a comment from water pot asking for more updates with a few recommendations.

I’d like to start out by saying thank you to water pot for recommending comics. I’m always open to suggestions and look forward to seeing what other people read that I might not have seen.

Here’s what water pot recommended and whether or not I’ll actually take the time to review the comics:

EmiTown: I’ve looked a couple of the pages and it does look interesting, plus the author is from Portland, Or. It’s rather close to where I’m from (Beaverton, Or.) which is kind of cool especially because I recognize some of the landmarks that she talks about in her strips.

I’ll go through her archives and see what’s up. So far it’s interesting, disjointed, boring, and fun. We’ll see.

Eva Cabrera: I will not be reviewing this comic. The main problem being that I took two years of Spanish in high school and another two (at basically the same level) in college. I am not prepared to read a web comic that’s written in Spanish.

I can understand a good chunk of what’s being said by the characters but not enough to get all the jokes or the lines. Though I do think that it’s awesome to see web comics in other languages. Until this comic I hadn’t seen or heard of any web comics that weren’t in English.

Here’s a link if you want to check it out: http://evacabrera.com/blog/

Producciones Balazo: This is another that I can’t review because of the language barrier. It is also in Spanish.

This one seems to be about super heroes or a mad scientist. I’m not sure which.

If you want to check it out here’s a link to this one: http://produccionesbalazo.com/

Bad Guy High: I haven’t quite decided if I’m going to review this one or not. The early art, jokes, and writing are terrible.

But the more recent stuff isn’t too bad. I’m up in the air on this one. I’ll come back to it and see how I feel about it.

Thank you again for recommending the comics water pot.

However, in the future for yourself and anyone else reading; please, make sure that the comics you send me are in English. It’s not that I’m anti-foreign language comics it’s more that I only speak one language and can only understand 50% of another.

Thanks.

Scyo.

One Comment leave one →
  1. June 17, 2009 7:13 pm

    youre welcome, I like your reviews a lot
    sorry about the spanish thing, since to me is the same reading in english and spanish I didnt see a problem my bad.
    Just wanted to give some unknown recomendations that I enjoy, since all the reviews sites review the same comics and the new comics they review are from same authors.

    Anyway just a wiki , producciones el balazo , are the adventures of “el bulbo” (the ligth bulb) before it was a webcomic use to be one of the few superheroes comics in Mexico, and the author is a pro that has made art works around the world, but the humor is very mexican the same with Ink pawa

    Bad guy high its the same deal with some of the most popular webcomics the author started the strip when he was a senior in high school and now he´s graduating from college

    I didnt throw mine to the mis because the 300 strips were terrible since I didnt know a lot the english to write a decent dialogue
    Anyway thanks for reading your reader comments

Leave a Reply

