Skip to content

Looking For Group

June 1, 2009

On Friday I threw up my new Friday Animation bit with a clip that would preview the comic that I’ll be talking about today. 

If you recognized it or looked it up cool. If not, get ready we’re starting now.

Background: I actually managed to get through the 250+ comics in time for Friday and I could have done a double post but I decided that it would be better if I had something planned for today so that I could actually get it done in time instead of skipping it due to my schedule. 

Today’s comic, Looking for Group, is written by Ryan Sohmer and drawn by Lar DeSouza which they started in 2006. The strip is done in issues with about 30 or so pages per issue. Right now they are up to 8 issues.

The creators do another strip called Least I Could Do that I might review but there are a lot of strips for that particular comic that I want to get through before I review it. 

The company Blind Ferret which has done animated series of the web comics Pvponline and CTRL+ALT+DEL has done a couple of small clips featuring LFG characters that can be found on youtube. The comic is also being made into a 75-90 minute movie that should be released this fall. 

It’s a busy comic but it’s one that deserves the attention.

The Comic: The writing in the comic is a lot of fun. It started out as humorous comic but eventually turned pretty serious with one character carrying most of the comedy. 

So far it’s taking on the feel of an epic comic. Being the fantasy fan that I am it’s been very enjoyable for me. It references World of Warcraft, Lord of the Rings and several other other fantasy series like the Wheel of Time series. Again, as a fantasy it’s a lot of fun. The wheel of time references are eh if only because that series is so boring. 

On the other side, the art matches the writing in quality and is a lot of fun to look at. DeSouza has a great ability to switch between small details and grand scale views. 

I really enjoy DeSouza’s style. After some very forgettable art in the 20 best reviews this was a welcome breath of fresh air. In fact, the last few comics that I’ve reviewed and the one that I’m thinking about doing have had wonderful art.

I think that I’ll stop here because I don’t want to give much away about the plot. It’s one that deserves to be looked at for itself.

My Recommendation: If you couldn’t see my love for this comic in the above sentences than here it is. Check out this comic. The writing is good, the art is good. It’s all around great. 

If you’re a fantasy fan, play WOW, or like quality comics then this is a comic is a must read.

Enjoy it.

Scyo.

One Comment leave one →
  1. June 4, 2009 2:55 pm

    I love wow! I quit playing after I hit 80 for so long because it took to long to get all my gear and my mount, but my friend showed me his gold making guide and now im obsessed again, the guide made it fun for me. Check it out here. http://tinyurl.com/wowgoldvip

Leave a Reply

