Skip to content

Star Trek Review

May 11, 2009

I’m usually a little late with my movie reviews only because I see the movies on the weekends and don’t review until Monday. 

I saw Star Trek on Saturday afternoon in a pretty full theater which had an audience that was actually pretty good. Sometimes seeing movies in theaters is tens times better than at home because you get in with a good audience.

Before I get too deep into this I realize that this movie isn’t exactly comic or animation related but let me indulge my nerdiness with this one. 

Initially and now I enjoyed the film. When I first saw I was more shell-shocked than I was contemplative(plus, I walked home and it was a really nice day outside. I wasn’t thinking about it too much). 

After I had a couple of days behind me, I still really enjoyed it. 

What I liked:

The casting is great. Zachary Quinto as Spock was a choice that I was excited about long before I saw the first trailer. However, the rest were great too. Chris Pine is a good Kirk and the guy who played Bones was funny, I’ve heard some say that they thought his lines seemed to forced to try and reference the original Trek but I liked his delivery and performance. Simon Pegg as Scottie was probably my favorite character/performance from the movie. I was somewhat skeptical of it the pick but it turned out great. 

The effects were both overwhelming and fun to look at. I friend of mine saw it at the IMAX and I don’t think I could have done it. The effects were so wild and filling on the screen that it might have blown my mind. 

Trek featured tons of references to the old show and movies that were very welcome and funny. If you haven’t seen it I won’t ruin any. 

The BSG silent space battles were awesome. One of the best examples is in the opening scene. You’ve really got to check it out. 

What I didn’t like:

I know that’s it Star Trek but man was the plot ridiculous once you got into the second half of the movie. It works and didn’t work. I don’t know, it wasn’t enough that at the end I hated it. It was just somewhat out there. 

The effects. Sometimes the screen was so full of stuff that it was hard to follow the action. 

The score. Giancchio is a regular colloborator of Abrams, they work on Lost and Fringe together at the moment. His main problem is that he likes to get big with his score when sometimes he should have been quieter. It’s not terribly bad that I noticed the whole way through but there were a couple of scenes that caught my attention. 

I ended with the BSG silent space above and it was also a problem if only because they weren’t consistent with it. Nit-picking if you will. 

I’m a big J.J. Abrams fan since Alias. While I’m not a big Lost fan I do enjoy Fringe and Star Trek was great. 

I recommend that you see Star Trek. It’s worth the $9.00 at your movie theater, mine sells $7.50 matinee but I hear in L.A. it’s like 14.00.

Later.

Scyo.

One Comment leave one →
  1. moniquejblog permalink
    May 12, 2009 6:27 pm

    I agree with a lot of what you said. Actually, I thought the score was great and none of the effects stood out to me, although I was probably distracted by the awesomeness of Zachary Quinto and the rest of the cast to care. If you’re interested, I’ve written a review about Star Trek as well at http://mljblog.wordpress.com/2009/05/09/review-star-trek-boldly-goes-as-the-summers-first-real-blockbuster/.

Leave a Reply

