Skip to content

xkcd

April 22, 2009

Of course, I go and post that whole thing about my changing schedule and I manage to get an hour clear to sit down and write a post on time. 

For those of you who were following I along I was going through a list of of the 20 Best webcomics. This is the last one. My next post will be a recap of the reviews that I did and short little bits about what I thought of each comic. 

Lets hit this comic and call it a day.

Background: xkcd was started in 2005 by Randall Munroe, a former NASA contractor. It’s been going strong since and Munroe’s comic is one of the few that has become self-sustaining. Munroe also does a lecture circuit from time to time. 

The comic was originally just doodles and drawings from school notebooks that Munroe wanted to save. He scanned them and posted them online. After his doodles became popular Munroe began to start drawing seriously.

The Comic: For the most part the comic is pretty funny. 

Much of the early doodles and drawings weren’t really based on anything funny. However, as the comic goes on he starts to use more stick figures and punchlines. 

Some of his jokes are neutral or understandable but for the most part his math and computer background comes through in his jokes. They’re not hard to understand but an understanding in either or both would make them much funnier.

Unfortunately, I told math to fuck off once I entered college, and for the most part I know enough about computers to get them through but what Munroe jokes about is beyond me. Most of his stuff refers to networks, operating systems, and some more technical aspects of computers that I don’t know about. 

It hinders the funny for me. 

This isn’t to say that the jokes aren’t funny, I enjoyed them more than the Joy of Tech for one. 

To be honest, I’ve always loved his earlier doodles. The quality is much better than the later comics and the art is more interesting. The random musings strike me as funnier than some of his later stuff. 

But that’s just me. 

My recommendation: Eh. I can’t hate on it because the comic does make me laugh from time to time. At the same time I don’t understand most of the jokes. So, if you do have a math and computer background than I recommend it. You’ll definitely laugh.

Kind of a 50/50 thing.

Scyo.

Leave a Reply

