Skip to content

The Joy of Tech

April 8, 2009

I really, really did not want to do this post today.

The bullshit answer is that I’m tired (true), lazy (also true), and bored (somewhat true).

The real answer is that the comic I had to read for today is boring, unfunny, and ironically terrible, for reasons that I’ll explain. Why is that a problem?

Well, other than the fact that I sifted through the archives of this comic, it’s because all I’m going to do is complain about the comic. Yes, I know, I’ve done it before with other comics.

The difference is that despite how bad this particular comic is, I don’t have the vitriol to rip into it. I don’t care about it. In fact, if this comic just disappeared and I never heard about it again…well, I’d be just fine as a human being. I might even throw a party commemorating lost things that I don’t care about.

Background: This comic was started in a 2000 as a replacement to the Joy of Tech website’s other comic, After Y2K.

It was started by Liza Schmalcel and Bruce Evans. Apparently, everywhere I looked liked to make note of the fact that the creators are Canadian. I guess that’s cool. Go Canada?

I don’t know if this was done ironically or not but the website that Joy of Tech is on…it’s quite possibly one of the worst web comic sites that I have ever seen. It’s not the worst, Achewood takes the cake for terrible design on that one, but it is up there. I’d say top 3, maybe even second place.

Design principles went out the window on this one. It’s not appealing to the eyes, in fact, it kind of hurts mine. Makes me shudder at bit to think back on it.

Seriously, it was mind-numbing trying to navigate through there. Just seems odd that a comic devoted to tech jokes would have such a terrible website.

The Comic: The actual comic is decently drawn, it’s art style reminds of me of RedMeat, which isn’t a compliment or slight. It just is.

Although, Tech is in color and has been since late 2000.

What do you want me to say about this one?

It’s about technology. They make jokes at Apple’s expense and seem to still harbor good will towards Linux.

It’s a comic for technerds.

This isn’t to say that I don’t understand the jokes, I do. However, for me they rest in that plane that Garfield and Dagwood occupy. At one point it might have been funny, but these days it’s just the same ol’ schtick and it isn’t flying anymore. It’s dull energy.

Nothing against the creators. I’m sure that they’re wonderful people. I don’t  want to hate on them, not like the immature children behind Cyanide and Happiness but the comic does nothing for me.

My recommendation: The art’s decent, the writing gets the job. I just find it boring and lifeless. However, if you really like jokes about technology than I say give it a shot, you might like it better than me.

Good luck.

Scyo.

P.S. Has it become increasingly obvious to you guys how much I hate Cyanide and Happiness for existing?

I just noticed that I’ve mentioned that comic at least once in every review I’ve done since I started this 20 best thing. Goddamn am I bitter…jeezus that comic sucked so hard.

Might need to work on some latent issues with that one.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 9, 2009 12:00 pm

    ha ha, love your shtick.

    Thanks for the review. 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Twenty Best Recap « cOmics eXpress

Leave a Reply

