Skip to content

Wolverine and the X-men

February 6, 2009

I stopped watching cartoons five or six years ago (basically when my mom stopped paying for cable TV and I started going to college and couldn’t afford it anyway).

Realistically I stopped before I lost cable though. Cartoons in the last few years just haven’t been all that good. I got some enjoyment from Fairy Godparents on Nick and my dad loves Kim Possible for whatever reason. Beyond that though I haven’t liked or wanted to watch many new cartoons. I hear Avatar is good but I haven’t picked it up.

Imagine my surprise the other day when I was wasting time before the Superbowl and watched this new show called Wolverine and the X-men.

I think I saw it on the Fox kids network but I’m not really sure on that one. All I know is that it was actually decent.

The acting was pretty good, the writing was more than I expected by a long shot. My only complaint would be that the art is reminiscent of the previous X-men show X-men: Evolution. Evo wasn’t terrible but I never really enjoyed the art style or the overtly campy style of the writing.

From what I gathered in the couple of episodes that I saw the premise of the show is that the X-mansion has been blown up in an attack on telepaths. Prof. Xavier and Jean Grey disappear, Cyclops gets emo, and everything dies down for about a year.

Then the government decides to start hunting down mutants. Wolverine in a moment of compassion or something finds Beast and tries to get the team back together. Also, Rogue joins the Brotherhood. Magneto isn’t as much of a factor in the series as he spends his time residing in his mutant island haven of Genosha.

Alas, no Gambit which is always a disappointment. I looked it up and apparently in later episodes Gambit does make an appearance but not having seen them I don’t  know how significant his role is in the series.

It’s a pretty interesting and it seems like the writers and team behind it have a good idea of what to do with the series. So far it’s come across as somewhat post-apocalytiptic which is a new angle for X-men cartoons.

We’ll see, I’ve only watched a couple of episodes so I can’t pass too much judgement.

Check it out for yourself. I don’t think you’ll be disappointed.

Scyo.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

