Skip to content

Updates and a Semi-review

December 17, 2008

Couple of things:

– Saw a new trailer for the Wolverine Origins movie which heavily featured Gambit and a shot of Deadpool. Looking good so far. More than anything I’m excited to see this because it’s finally an X-men movie with ones that I actually want to see. Fuckin A.

– Some of the following information is old, like 8 months or so, but I wrote a review of the book World War Z a few months ago but I couldn’t find any information regarding the movie, for whatever reason. Today, being bored at work, I looked it up again and found tons of information.

1. J. Michael Straczynksi is/did write the screenplay for the movie. From what I’ve heard it’s awesome just to read. I read briefly that Brad Pitt might star in the movie(his production company is making it).

2. Marc Forester is directing the film. He’s known for Monsters Ball, Finding Neverland, and he directed the new Bong film, Quantum of Solace.

3. Not that this is news but with this new information I am excited. I’ve read on forums and such that a lot of people don’t like Forester as a director. I never saw Monsters Ball but I thought Finding Neverland and Quantum were good movies. I suppose I’m more optimistic than some that I’ve read.

Okay time for the review. Since the web comic that I’m reviewing is something of a work in progress and actually contains a plot element I can’t review it as a whole but lets see what comes of it.

Background: It turns out that this comic is illustrated by Owen Gieni and written by Chris Crosby. I don’t if any of you remember but I reviewed another work by them when I first started this blog. Well, sort of by them. Crosby’s brother wrote 90% of the series, Last Blood.

Turns out Chris is a better writer and from what I’ve heard much nicer to fans than his brother, who is positively a dick.

The Comic: Unlike Last Blood this comic comes in color and Gieni’s art is really improved by it. Yes, the colors are muted or singular for various pages but it still adds to the whole effect. Like Last Blood so far the art is the best part.

Chris’ writing style is much smoother and one can feel the characters in his work. I’m expecting good work.

The comic is only 10 or so pages in but has been enough to draw me in. I think, based on what I’ve read that the story will revolve around a reporter who works for a like a Weekly World News (Bat Boy) type of paper, and his search for the King of the Crows which happens to be a very violent, malignant bird.

Since it has been interesting so far I would recommend starting up yourself.

However, and I’m not sure if I’m the only one getting this but this ridiculous warning page pops up EVERY SINGLE TIME you click the next button. I’m not sure what’s wrong with their website but it is goddamn annoying. I’m having trouble bringing myself to link to it because of that but here is anyway:

Crow Scare.

You’ve been warned on that front.

Scyo.

One Comment leave one →
  1. December 17, 2008 9:07 pm

    That problem should be fixed now. Thanks for the kind words!

Leave a Reply

