Skip to content

Achewood Update

December 3, 2008

A few posts back I gave an initial review of Achewood. This is turning into something of a 3 part series here.

In my initial review I said that I was confused about Achewood and whether or not I liked it was hard to determine.

At this point in time I’m about half way through the archives and here’s what I’ve found as of my current reading:

– I am not the obsessive teenage I used to be. There was a point in time when I was in middle school and early high school that I could plow through comic archives for hours on end. Not anymore, hence why this read through of Achewood is taking longer than I thought it would. Mostly I get bored.

– It’s gotten funnier.

– It’s gotten weirded and at the same time more coherent. The first couple of years had this random feel to them but the later years feel more plot centric and have mini-story arcs that are relevant to an extent.

– I still hate the art quality.

– But the writing has made up for that somewhat.

Once I finish the archives, if I finish the archives, I’ll drop a full thing for it. Achewood might be the death of me, 8 years of material is a lot to get through.

Scyo.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

