Skip to content

Achewood

November 7, 2008

So, I’ve seen and heard of this webcomic called Achewood from several different people. It’s supposed to be utterly hilarious and truthful in its humor.

I decided maybe I should sit down and actually read a few of these comics. Currently, I’m going through the archives which begin in 2001.

For an objective look on Achewood I should wait and write about this after I’ve read them all but I wanted to give an initial impression from some of the early work.

Background: I couldn’t find much but apparently it’s written by a guy named Chris Onstad from California who attended Stanford. Also, he’s published 13 books all of which deal with Achewood in one way or another.

He has a wife and a daughter. So there ya go.

The Comic: Since this is a webcomic I check out the website and have determined that it might, in fact, be the worst designed website of all time. The archives alone are enough to kill a man.

Also, he has this feature that allows readers to comment under individual comics and that feature has things going everywhere. I don’t know if this detracts from the comic itself but the experience of going through the website was heinous to say the least.

So first impressions:

– It’s poorly drawn which automatically means a loss of points for me.

– However, it’s actually funny.

– It’s very random and seemingly out there.

– Again, it’s actually funny not in an Oh my lord, that was hilarious kind of way but more of a small smile because you completely understand what they’re talking about kind of way, a you’ve been down that road before laugh.

– Due to its randomness it’s not funny all the time.

So far, I’ve seen 4 different characters, a bear thing named Teodore, a ghost looking thing named Phillipe, a cat who’s name I don’t know, and robot called Liebot.

My recommendation: I don’t know what to tell you. I’m only a couple of years in and I find myself liking it, hating it, loving it, and loathing it.

Check it out for yourself I can’t even really rate Achewood.

Scyo.

Leave a Reply

