Skip to content

Lego Batman

October 25, 2008

I don’t know what has been up with me and Fridays the last two weeks. Last week I completely forgot it was Friday and this week I didn’t see a computer for more than a minute or two at a time and those times were few and far between. I did get ridiculously drunk though, so that might have had something to do with it.

Beyond that I wanted to drop some knowledge on the videogame Lego Batman which is for the X-box 360, PS3, and I believe the Wii but I could be wrong on that one since I don’t own a Wii.

I personally have not played the game but I have been watching a couple of friends play the co-op mode for the last month or so.

It’s a goofy little game that isn’t afraid to make fun of itself which is nice in a video game series like the Lego ones. Batman features a co-op and single player mode but my friend tells me that the single player isn’t very fun. However, the co-op is pretty well done.

There are three or four storylines split between two factions, the heroes and the villians. Each story has 7 or so levels that are lengthy enough to keep your attention but short enough to keep you from being bored.

The Lego series is based heavily on collecting things and Batman is no different. Mini-kits, red blocks, studs, and lego parts are some of the main things that players collect while trying to beat the game. Fortunately, like most collection games, you can replays levels to find all the things you missed, and to beat the game you don’t have to find everything, although there is a ridiculous amount of things that players can unlock.

These include multiple characters (basically every hero and villian ever including Hush and Killer Moth who my friends believe is the lamest Batman villian ever, I think there has to be a worse one), vehicles, “cheats”, extras, just a ton of things.

I like the Lego series, the Star Wars one was awesome and while I’ve yet to play the Indiana Jones game I think it will be on par with the rest.

The main complaints that I would have is that fact the controls feel somewhat clunky at times and the camera angles can get so bad that jumping becomes an exercise in patience, as in do you have the patience to not break your controlloer. But the biggest issue that I have that’s more of a frustration thing is that too get some of the mini-kits and red blocks that things a player must do occasionally make no sense whatsoever.

I watched one recently where my friends had to go to this remote almost hidden spot in the map and build a boat. After building the boat they were supposed to drive it around a flag in laps until the mini-kit popped up. It was the only thing over there. THE ONLY THING and it made no sense. They did another one that involved random buttons placed in weird spots that didn’t really have a connection to one another than the mini-kit.

Eh.

I’m done for now and I apologize for my weirdness about Fridays lately. I’m going to try really hard to get one out next Friday like I’m supposed.

Scyo.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 30, 2008 8:19 pm

    By red things you mean the vaccum suit that you need to suck in 25 pieces in order to get an item from the machine? Yea kind of frustrating but the game overall is still fun

  2. April 6, 2009 7:30 am

    Nice…

Leave a Reply

