Skip to content

Space Case

October 18, 2008

I completely spaced on my post for yesterday. I mostly blame that my work schedule was switched forcing me to work the late shift. It’s a lame excuse but that’s what I’m calling it.

Just noticed that wordpress added a poll button, awesome, now bloggers can be like every other annoying website that has a poll option, forum stupidity here we come. Not that there aren’t already some atrociously unintelligent people on here as it is.

I was going to do Midnight Nation today but I’m not at home and don’t have the book with me. Instead I wanted to have you turn your eyes to this exciting bit of news:

A new Batman game is being made that is not based on a cartoon series, movie, or toy line.

Let that one soak in for a moment or two.

This new game is actually based on the comics (mostly). A lot of the source material comes from the comics but the plot was contrived only for the game and not based on an actual series. A step in the right direction as far as I’m concerned.

So here is some cool information about it:

– Eidos the American publisher behind the more recent Tombraiders (which were awesome by the way) is publishing the new game titled Batman: Arham Asylum.

– The main plot line is that Joker has taken over the asylum, however, this also means that Batman will get to face many of his arch nemesi Riddler, Poison Ivy, Bain, Killer Croc (who after looking at the Game Informer article looks amazing), and everybody’s favortie Harley Quinn, well, I like her. 

– Unlike many games now a days that rely heavily on the “open world sandbox” ideology this game will take place only in and around Arkham. 

– Game Informer is calling it a BioShock-esque game. That could be good or bad depending on how you felt about BioShock.

– Paul Dini is writing the story for the game. Paul Dini. This means that unlike all those shit EA games and others from the 1990s the game will feature writing by someone who actually knows the Batman universe. I’m calling good on the story here and now. Gameplay yet to be determined. 

– According to the GI article artists from WildStorm Comics are behind the style and look of the characters for the game. Which basically means that Jim Lee has to have a hand in it somewhere. 

What I’m trying to say is that I’m very excited for this game and it’s not even out yet. Supposedly it has a release date for 2009, sometime, but we’ll see. Delays are the rule, not the exception. 

Final bit from me then you can go about your days:

Sorry about the missed day, my apologies. Next week expect a look at Midnight Nation and I was thinking of doing a look at the generally considered top 10 Batman comics ever and seeing if they’re worth the praise that they get. That’s it from me, have a good weekend.

Scyo.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

