Skip to content

Blog Updates

August 13, 2008

I won’t be reviewing any comics or animation today. Instead this is more of a news post post about the blog. It’s mostly going to focus on upcoming updates, a side rant about zombie movies and more specifically Texans in movies, and something of an upcoming schedule.

cOmic eXpress News:

– From August 18th to September 1st my updates might be a little haphazard or nonexistent depending on the day. August 22nd will most likely be a day where I don’t post, but I’ll try to throw something up on Thursday to maybe offset that.

The reason that this will be a little hectic is because I’m moving. I have to be out of my current place on the 22nd and I can’t move in to my new place until the 10th of September. So between packing, work, and the magazine that I’m working on we’ll see what I can come up with.

– In the coming months I might be trying out different “gimmicks” to see what I feel comfortable with. It seems that to get noticed on the internet quality just doesn’t cut it anymore and you need something extra to catch people’s attention.

To be honest I’ll probably try these things and then go back to what I was doing in the first place. We’ll see, I’m still debating whether or not it’s even worth doing. I’ll keep you posted on that one.

– My main focus has mainly been comics and graphic novels but as my first post says and the title bar implies, I do like animation as well so I’ll definitely be trying to look at more animation on here. I’ve already got a couple of Anime titles that I own that I’ll introduce on here and I might even go to some of the things that I grew up with just to see how they’ve aged. The “classics” will include movies and cartoons. Here’s an idea of some of the things that I’m thinking of looking at:

Doug (Nickelodeon’s Doug not that crappy Disney Doug)

Rocko’s Modern Life

The Lion King

Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles (The first cartoon not series not TMNT, well I might look at TMNT, maybe.)

Aladdin (The songs maybe be terrible but the first movie was decent)

Captain Planet

That’s just a short list but we’ll see. I am excited to go back and look at some of the old school Turtles cartoons. Hopefully they’ll be as good as I remember them. You can’t go wrong with an enemy called Krang.

– Beyond the “classic” cartoons of the late 80s and 90s I also have some comics that I’ll be looking at as well. The following are some of the comics I hope to look at over the coming weeks.

3 part series on Brian Vaughn. The first will be about him, the next two will be on two of the series he’s written: Runaways and Y: The Last Man.

Batman: The Long Halloween (by Jeph Loeb)

Me trying to understand the series Starfire, or Star Cannon, or something like that. I’ll look into it more as the post date gets closer.

Maybe a look at some of the Sin City books. We’ll see.

Midnight Nation.

So that’s the schedule. For those of you needed that I’m done with cOmic eXpress news. Next is my movie thing.

I realize that movies aren’t really what I look at on here but as I stated with the World War Z introduction, zombies hold a special place with me. As in I love zombie movies, books, and comic series although I haven’t read the Marvel zombie one, I should.

Anyway, last night I watched George A. Romero’s Diary of the Dead. There was only one thing that really bothered me about the movie but I’ll get to that momentarily. There are only two things that you need to know about this movie that make it worth seeing.

A) Amish Farmer fighting zombies with a scythe.

B) English professor with a bow and arrow = zombie head shots with arrows. Trust me, it’s more awesome that in sounds.

So the premise of this movie is that some college students are filming a movie at when the zombie outbreak occurs. One guy, Jason Creed, decides to film what happens as sort of a zombie documentary. His film follows his friends around as they deal with the zombies and other survivors of the outbreak.

Definitely worth a watch I think. At 96 minutes it’s a little short but I think it stays interesting through out even if the college kids make some very stereotypical horror movie mistakes like not running when they see a zombie or staring at the zombie and asking it questions. Also, for whatever reason they get a gun which happens to be a little PPK that apparently holds enough ammo to kill an army. My friend and I counted, this gun was shot at least 16 times in a 10 minutes period of the movie. 16! That gun could maybe hold 8 before you have to reload, 10 max. I let that one slide.

So my big problem with the movie was the only character who wasn’t from Pennsylvania, excluding the professor who was Italian or something. This one character happened to be from San Antonio, Texas or as she annoyingly called it, “San Antone.”

Here’s a few of my problems with characters in movies who say they’re from Texas. 1) They all own a horse. 2) They call the cities they’re from weird names like San Antone (I’m spelling it phonetically because I don’t know how you actually spell what she said). 3) They all have ridiculous accents. 4) Everything is better in Texas followed by the quote “Don’t Mess with Texas.”  I’m going to address these individually.

1) I lived in Texas, specifically “San Antone,” for awhile and before that I had family in Corpus Christi. Needless to say I’ve been there. There might be a lot of people in Texas with horses but not every single person in Texas owns a horse. In fact, in most of the big cities no one owns a horse. It’s like people think that people in Texas go to work on horse back or something. I drove a van and most of my friends drove trucks or cars. If you want a stereotype tell people that trucks outnumber cars 5 to 1 in Texas because that’s at least marginally true.

2) San Antone? San Antone?! What? Who says that? Is there a sect of people from San Antonio who go around like idiots saying San Antone? Did I miss them in the four years that I actually lived in San Antonio? Or is this a new phenomenon that cropped after I left? Seriously, what the hell?

I never once heard anyone refer to S.A. as San Antone. The only one I heard regularly was S.A. town. Which was on banners around the city occasionally. San Antone? Lord, that pisses me off to no end for whatever reason. It just makes the chick sound like she’s missing a few in the intelligence deck. Is there something wrong with saying San Antonio? This girl never once refers to it as San Antonio it’s always San Antone, like she’s too lazy to finish the sentence.

I suppose the only solace is that you see her breasts towards the end of the movie and then she leaves. So, that works.

3) When I moved from Texas my accent was noticeable and I did use y’all more than I do today, but I wouldn’t describe it as the over-the-top drawl that movie actors put into their “Texan” accents. Hell, even when I talk to friends who still live in Texas or go to UT they don’t sound half as “Texan” as the actors. If they want to work on their dialects then yes, y’all is a commonly used word. Yes, there is a drawl but it’s a lot more subtle than the movies tell you. Imagine that the a’s are little bit longer and certain consonants are muffled a bit. But it’s not this “Howdy y’all, welcome to Texaaas, Don’t y’all mess with Texaas  now, ya hear?” It’s not that god awful for most people in Texas. Mmkay? Let’s learn that then.

4) I’m sorry but no, everything is not better in Texas. Yes, many things are bigger in Texas though. No, you probably shouldn’t mess with Texas but to be honest what would be the point?

Texas is an interesting state with a lot of cool places to go. The Schlitterbahn water parks are fun. San Marcos is good for shopping. There’s Dallas. Houston is eh, but Galveston is cool. Corpus Christi has some good ocean fishing and Spring Break on Padre Island. Austin is the most liberal city in Texas and has the capitol building which is architecturally very interesting. Of course, the Alamo in San Antonio and the River Walk (although the water always looks really dirty and gross the restaurants along the Walk are great). Don’t go to El Paso though. However, those alone don’t make Texas better, bigger maybe but not better.

Also, Don’t Mess with Texas? Who would? The Texas Minutemen alone are worth the not messing with Texas. Who wants to deal with crazy Texans who shoot Mexicans?

I think I’m going to end my rant with that one and this post. So, now you know and I’m off to do whatever it is I do inbetween posts.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. August 13, 2008 7:22 pm

    Where did you hear that we shoot Mexicans? We only fire when fired opon! Thank God that has never happened.

    “In the beginning of a change, the patriot is a brave and scarce man, hated and scorned.

    When the cause succeeds, however, the timid join him…for then it costs nothing to be a patriot.”

    Mark Twain

    “Today, we need a nation of Minutemen, citizens who are not only prepared to take arms, but citizens who regard the preservation of freedom as the basic purpose of their daily life”.
    -John F. Kennedy

  2. August 14, 2008 7:13 am

    Hi. Fellow Texan here. Have to agree with you regarding the drawls that “actors” attempt. I’m a 6th generation Texan and while my accent has become softer, my immediate family’s hasn’t. The strength of the accent depends on the region you’re from and how hard you’ve tried to learn to “spoke right”. I still hear people here say things like “warsh” (wash), “San Antone” and “fix’n ta”. I grew up in San Antonio—yes, some people do say “San Antone”. Depends on whether your a kicker or not. My dad says it all the time, and yes, he wears a cowboy hat, boots everyday. People who live south of SA say it that way too (Pleasanton for ex).

    I agree with the person above regarding the Minutemen.

    I enjoy your blog. Look forward to more comic reviews.

    hasta luego,
    Jen
    Co-host of the Anomaly Podcast

  3. September 5, 2008 1:25 pm

    Love it!

  4. September 5, 2008 1:27 pm

    I’ve lived in San Antonio for almost 8 years now and I have barely heard San Antone used or any other stereotypical words or accents. I’ve been all over Texas too. My experiences south of SA are no longer Texas accents, but simply Spanish. HA. Though, Kevin’s dad says “warsh” all the time… and he lives here in San Antonio. So I guess the accents are still around in some places.

Trackbacks

  1. Gossip talks » Blog Archive » Blog Updates

Leave a Reply

