Skip to content

Watchmen Trailer

August 4, 2008

Yes, I know that it’s been out for a couple of weeks now but I figured that I’d throw my 2 cents down.

Plus, I’m bored at work and I’ve been watching youtube videos for the past hour, figured I’d do something productive.

Anyway, the movie comes out on March 6th, 2009.

Here’s some fun info that I found whilst looking up Watchmen stuff:

– Alan Moore, of course, does not condone the movie and asked for his name to not be attributed to the movie. I think that this mostly stems from how unhappy he was with V for Vendetta.

– Did you know that Tom Cruise, Thomas Jane, Jude Law, and Signourvey Weaver were all interested in the working on the movie but all fell out due to budget problems? It’s true.

– The movie was filmed in “every city in Amercia” look-a-like Vancouver, Canada.

– The original script by David Hayter (writer of X-men 1 and 2) was set in contemporary times. However, Zack Snyder decided with the new writer Art Tse to put the movie back to the 1980s. Most of the script is still made up of Hayter’s two original drafts.

– Alan Moore approved of Hayter’s script.

– There will be Watchmen action figures released after the movie comes out. I find this ironic.

– They did not put The Tales of the Black Freighter into the movie. Instead Warner Bros. will release a direct-to-DVD animated with movie of the story from the novel with a documentary of the novel.

Fun facts for everybody.

I’m not going to sit here and argue that this movie will be good or bad. I will review the movie and the additional animated feature when they come out though.

I’m a little worried about this movie honestly because I didn’t like V for Vendetta that much and I wasn’t orgasming my blood, bones, and guts over 300 (I did like it but not so much that it equals quality “guy movie” to me).

One more thing I refuse to argue is that Watchmen is the greatest graphic novel ever written. It’s good but I don’t think it’s the greatest. I think I liked Maus more. Watchmen is up in the top 10 but it’s not number 1. Nothing has blown me away to enough deserve that spot.

Well, that’s my little pre-trailer spiel. Now, here’s the trailer and so far, the movie looks good. So far.

Edit: I noticed that the video stopped working so I found a different one. This one features the guy who actually posted the thing at the end. Quote of the day:

“I’m so excited I could pee.” 

I think he almost started crying during this. More than a little perturbed by his emotions in this.

Scyo.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

