Skip to content

Free Online Comics: Wowio

June 5, 2008

Before I get into my “reviews” of web comics I wanted to pass along some information on a website that I’ve been using for the last month or so. 

I found it messing around on google one night when I was bored. Doing random searches is amusing to me. 

 

The site: Wowio is a site that allows users to download e-books, comics, and graphic novels from their large inventory.  They offer a variety of topics from philosophy to science fiction and travel. It really is a diverse selection.

Now, I have not personally tried to download any of their e-books but that’s only because I dislike reading books online. That hasn’t stopped me from trying out a few of their comics and graphic novels though.

The sign up is free, same as the books, and easy. They send one e-mail to you asking for confirmation of the account you signed up for but other than that you won’t get spammed, which is always a plus I find. The only downside, especially with comics, is that you only get three downloads a day. However, it really isn’t that hard to wait til the next day to continue downloading. 

They do offer the convienent service of a queue that records all the items that you add to your “cart.” I’ve left things in the queue for two weeks and they’ve still been there when I came back. 

Since I haven’t downloaded any books I cannot tell you how series work or how much of the novel you get but, I can say that comic and graphic novel series are limited. For example, one of the series that I downloaded was called Last Blood.  Wowio offered five issues from the series and that is it. There are clearly more in the series as the last page of the fifth issue heavily implies but Wowio does not have them.

I liken it to more of an introduction. Wowio offers just enough so that the reader can get a taste of comic but they’re not going to put the entire catalogue up. 

Which is just fine with me. For the casual comic fan and even the hardcore fan this is an easy way to find a new series and figure it if you’re going to like it or not. 

I found two series on the site, Last Blood and Hero by Night that I would like to continue to read. I could see myself paying for more issues. 

 

My Recommendation: Check it out. I think you’ll find the site very useful and a great way to find some interesting e-books or a quick comic to pass the time away.

Now, I’m trying to figure out a rating system. I want something a little more interesting than stars. For now, I’ll give it: Three out of five ♣ signs until I find something a little more appealing to use.

♣ ♣ ♣ ♣ ♣

Scyo.

Coming friday: I’ll be reviewing Last Blood and Hero by Night just to give you guys a taste of what I found on Wowio. 

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 1, 2008 7:49 pm

    I visited the site you recommend and it is cool
    Thanks for sharing this

    http://www.chico-chihuahua.com

Leave a Reply

